THE LAST JOURNEY OF CAPTAIN AMIT BHARADWAJ

I don’t know how to start. As I got these pictures of Captain Amit Bharadwaj’s journey towards immortality, I just became blank. I felt 17 is just a number. 17 X 365 X 24 is also just a number. There can never be a number too big. It will always remain so fresh – the loss, the pain, the wait.

17 years ago, this day he came home wrapped in the tri-colour. He came home after 56 days of attaining martyrdom for his dear motherland. He was 27 years old then – not too old but very brave. In that age, we spend our days in luxury and comfort. We hardly dare to come out of our safe zone. And he at that age risked his life, didn’t think of his family, his own comfort but thought only about his nation and us – his countrymen. I can’t even think where from all these courage and determination comes. He didn’t think of what will happen after his martyrdom. He knew his country needed him at that time. India has always been a land of true warriors or kshatriyas and he was a perfect warrior son of his motherland.

Today, whether you cry for a terrorist or pelt stones to his fellow brother soldiers just don’t matter to him. He did his duty and he knows his brother soldiers will also do the same and even give their life without a second thought for the nation – however ungrateful it may be. As they believe –

“I will always do my duty, no matter what the price.
I’ve counted up the cost, I know the sacrifice.
Oh, and I don’t want to die for you,
But if dying is asked of me,
I’ll bear that cross with honor,
‘Cause freedom don’t come free.

Beside my brothers and my sisters I will proudly take a stand,
When liberty’s in jeopardy I will always do what’s right,
I’m out here on the front lines. Sleep in peace tonight.”

But we, by not thinking about the family he left behind¬ instead thinking of the father or son of a terrorist, we are showing how misfit we are for such great sacrifices of greater men in uniform.

Dear Captain Amit Bharadwaj, our beloved Amit bhaiya, bless us that one day, some day we may become more deserving of your sacrifice.

Desh bows down her head before your bravery and selfless sacrifice. We are ever grateful to you. Thank you for protecting us and ensuring our safety by risking your own.

I guess Heaven was needing a hero
Somebody just like you
Brave enough to stand up
For what you believe
And follow it through
When I try to make it make sense in my mind
The only conclusion I come to
Is Heaven was needing a hero like you

Picture Courtsey – Sunita Dhonkaria (elder sister of Captain Amit Bharadwaj)

Leave a Reply

